Bourgogne 2017-05-18T14:21:42+00:00

Travel in Bourgogne

At a stone’s throw from Paris and Lyon, the Bourgogne provides a concentrate of all the charms France has on offer: the good life, good food, incredible wines, centuries-old architectural heritage,…Get inspired by Bourgogne!

Logo Designed by Bourgogne

Art of living made in Bourgogne

Cross the legendary vineyards of  Vosne-Romanée, Nuits-Saint-Georges or Gevrey-Chambertin on your bike, go to a tasting in a cellar or a wine-bar in Beaune or a village on the Route des Grands Crus, go on a river cruise on the canal du Nivernais, stroll on the banks of the Loire, the last great wild river in Europe, contemplate treasures of religious architecture in Vézelay or Fontenay, admire the Renaissance richness of he castles of  Tanlay or Ancy-le-Franc, be surprised by the crazy bet of the medieval worksite of Guédelon built according to medieval techniques, gaze at a sunset on the shore of the lake of  Settons in the Morvan … Bourgogne is experienced in a million of unforgettable ways

Key figures / landmarks

sites listed in the UNESCO world heritage
of the AOC (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée) allocated to French wines are from Bourgogne. Welcome to Bacchus country
Grands crus and 684 Climates classified Premier cru
workers are active on the medieval site of Guédelon, a fortified castle built with the techniques and materials in the Middle Ages. A considerable challenge!
years of history passed in the abbey of Fontenay, the oldest Cistercian preserved abbey in the world.
boats are proposed for hire in Bourgogne to navigate the 1200 km of canals and rivers of the region, all without permits and getting sea sick.

Table art and happy tastebuds

In France, gastronomy is an art form that probably is most perfectly expressed in Bourgogne, through:

  •  prestigious local produce such as Fijon mustard, Charolaise meat, Bresse chickens, snails or even Bourgogne truffels, a rare and refined product.
  •  famous tables served by often Michelin-starred chefs that innovate, revisit the iconic recipes of the region and in particular will make you enjoy memorable gastronomic moments.

Those gastronomic and oenological pleasures are mainly the opportunity to appreciate the conviviality and the sharing mentality that the Bourgogne and its inhabitants demonstrate.

Awakening of the senses

Bourgogne is a region where exceptional wines are produced and whose quality of the soil and the know-how of the wine producers are recognised the world over. A recognition that was officialised in 2015 with the registration of the  Climats du vignoble de Bourgogne, or in other words the Bourguignon vineyards, in the Unesco world heritage of Humanity.

In order to never again having to be puzzled about a menu in a bar or the shelf in the supermarket, nothing beats an initiation course in oenology: wine experts share their passion, their experience and the meal-wine combinations they appreciate.

Haute couture Bourgogne

Crossed by rivers and canals, populated with forests, lakes and hills, Bourgogne is one of a kind. Natural sites like Roche de Solutré or human creations like the locks of Sardy will definitely not prove the opposite. A cultural destination, the Bourgogne hosts timeless events every year like the festival of crime films in Beaune, the festival of the word in Charité-sur-Loire or Theatre in May in Dijon.

The Bourgogne is the reflex you need for an authentic weekend

A rural escape and a piece of history in the Morvan

You go mainly to Morvan for a breath of fresh air and enjoy the peace and quiet between fishing in the lake of  Pannecière, swimming in the lake des Settons, hikes on foot or on your bike in the Regional Natural Park of Morvan or simply a nap in very natural settings.

2000 years ago, this bucolic little corner was the centre of intense economic and craft activity. The Grand Site de France Bibracte testifies this. The ancient fortified Gallic city (Oppidum) and the capital of the Gallic Eduen people has now been transformed into a Celtic museum and archaeological site of the highest quality.

Another site charged with history,  Vézelay and its basilica are a strong symbol of Christianity in medieval times and a spiritual stopover on the roads to St Jacques.  Even if you are not passionate about history, go there just for a stroll. Classified prettiest village of France, this little hamlet deserves a visit!

Voyage en Bourgogne

A deux pas de Paris et de Lyon, la Bourgogne offre un petit concentré de tous les charmes que peut offrir la France : douceur de vivre, bonne chère, vins incroyables, patrimoine architectural séculaire, … Laissez-vous inspirer par la Bourgogne !

Logo Designed by Bourgogne

L’art de vivre made in Bourgogne

Traverser les mythiques vignobles de Vosne-Romanée, Nuits-Saint-Georges ou Gevrey-Chambertin à vélo, s’offrir une dégustation dans une cave ou un wine-bar à Beaune ou dans un village de la Route des Grands Crus, faire une croisière fluviale sur le canal du Nivernais, se balader sur les bords de la Loire, le dernier grand fleuve sauvage d’Europe, contempler des trésors d’architecture religieuse à Vézelay ou Fontenay, admirer le faste Renaissance des châteaux de Tanlay ou d’Ancy-le-Franc, se laisser surprendre par le pari fou du chantier médiéval de Guédelon construit selon les techniques du Moyen Age, contempler un coucher de soleil au bord du lac des Settons dans le Morvan … La Bourgogne se vit et se décline comme autant d’expériences inoubliables.

Chiffres clés / repères

sites inscrits au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO
des AOC (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée) attribuées aux vins français sont de Bourgogne. Bienvenue au pays de Bacchus !
Grands crus et 684 Climats classés Premiers crus
œuvriers s’attèlent sur le chantier médiéval de Guédelon, un château fort construit selon les techniques et matériaux du Moyen Age. Un défi de taille !
ans d’histoire se sont joués dans l’abbaye de Fontenay, la plus ancienne abbaye cistercienne conservée au monde.
bateaux sont proposés à la location en Bourgogne pour voguer sur les 1200 km de canaux et rivières de la région, le tout sans permis et sans mal de mer.

Arts de la table et papilles en émois

En France, la gastronomie est élevée au rang d’art et c’est sans doute en Bourgogne qu’elle s’exprime dans toute son excellence, à travers : 

  • des produits locaux prestigieux comme la moutarde de Dijon, la viande charolaise, la volaille de Bresse, les escargots ou même la truffe de Bourgogne, produit rare et raffiné.
  • de grandes tables tenues par des chefs souvent étoilés qui innovent, revisitent les recettes emblématiques de la région et surtout vous font vivre des moments gastronomiques mémorables.

Ces plaisirs gastronomiques et oenologiques sont surtout l’occasion d’apprécier toute la convivialité et le sens du partage dont la Bourgogne et les Bourguignons savent faire preuve.

L’éveil des sens

La Bourgogne est terre de production de vins d’exception dont la qualité des terroirs et le savoir-faire des vignerons sont reconnus dans le monde entier. Une reconnaissance qui a pris un tournant officiel en 2015 avec l’inscription des Climats du vignoble de Bourgogne, autrement dit des terroirs viticoles bourguignons, au patrimoine mondial de l’Humanité (UNESCO).

Pour ne plus hésiter devant la carte au bar ou dans un rayon de supermarché, rien de tel qu’un cours d’initiation à l’oenologie : des experts du vin partagent leur passion, leur expérience et les accords mets-vins qu’ils apprécient.

La Bourgogne haute couture

Sillonnée par les rivières et les canaux, peuplée par les forêts, les lacs et les collines, la Bourgogne est une pièce unique. Les sites naturels tels que la Roche de Solutré ou les créations de l’homme comme l’échelle d’écluses de Sardy ne vont certainement pas prouver le contraire. Destination culturelle, la Bourgogne accueille chaque année des événements indémodables tels que le festival du film policier de Beaune, le festival du mot à La Charité-sur-Loire ou encore Théâtre en mai à Dijon.

La Bourgogne est le réflexe à adopter pour un week-end authentique.

Partie de campagne et morceau d’histoire dans le Morvan

Le Morvan on y va avant tout pour se mettre au vert et couler des jours tranquilles entre la pêche au lac de Pannecière, la baignade au lac des Settons, les balades à pied ou à vélo dans le Parc Naturel Régional du Morvan ou la sieste tout simplement dans un décor très nature.

Il y a 2000 ans, ce petit coin bucolique était le centre d’une activité économique et artisanale intense. En atteste  le Grand Site de France de Bibracte, ancienne ville fortifiée gauloise (Oppidum) et capitale du peuple gaulois Eduen désormais converti en musée et site archéologique celtique de 1er ordre.

Autre lieu chargé d’histoire, Vézelay et sa basilique symbole fort de la chrétienté au Moyen-Âge et étape spirituelle sur les chemins de St Jacques. Même si vous n’êtes pas féru d’histoire, allez-y juste pour la flânerie. Classé plus beau village de France, cette petite bourgade vaut le coup d’œil !